National Palliative Care Awards

Over 1000 delegates attended the 2021 Oceanic Palliative Care Conference (21OPCC) last week through 7-10 September.

In his opening address, The Minister for Health and Aged Care, The Hon Greg Hunt MP paid homage to palliative care staff, volunteers, medical professionals, researchers and carers, for their efforts amid the COVID-19 pandemic, praising them for providing care to ‘our most vulnerable Australians at their most vulnerable time.’

One of the conference highlights was the announcement of the National Palliative Care Awards. Congratulations to all the winners.

Team – Innovation in Palliative Care 

Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service (Paediatric Palliative Care Service) 

Team – Outstanding Teamwork Award 

Dungog Shire Palliative Care Volunteers Inc. 

Individual – Emerging Leader 

Dr Graham Grove 

Individual – Emerging Researcher 

Dr Claudia Virdun 

Individual – Excellence in Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Palliative Care 

Cheryl Porter-Pedras 

Individual – Excellence in Generalist Palliative Care 

Dr Jonathan Ramachenderan 

Individual – Excellence in Palliative Care – Community Based Care 

Dr Paula Moffat 

Individual – Excellence in Palliative Care – Paediatric Palliative Care 

Associate Professor John Collins 

Individual – Excellence in Palliative Care – Rural and Remote 

Robyn Ellis 

Individual – Excellence in Palliative Care in an Aged Care Setting 

Yasothiny Yogarajah 

Individual – Outstanding Achievement by a Volunteer 

Keri Wassenaar